top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. J. Welch

Publicity, why?

Do you remember that one guy that said advertising was easy? I don't either; I'm actually not sure he exists. Advertising is a pain in my bummzies, let me tell you. You can spend thousands of dollars on ads and still not sell a book, like, hello. The exchange rate is money for sales, not money for indifference. If I wanted indifference, I'd talk to my dog, which is free by the way.


And don't, do not, ever, never, get me started on public image. I lose so much sleep at night because I don't post on my Instagram enough, or use my twitter. I know that's how you grow your reader base, but for the love of chocolate, can it be easier? I have enough work to do already, I don't need more, right. Right?


I mean, yeah, I'm already antisocial, so this is naturally a struggle. It's also a part of my career, a big part, so I can't just ignore it. How do i get better? Probably practice, but we all know that's not happening.


Well, for one thing, I think having something to talk about would be a great help, like writing for example. If only I wrote. Remember that Novella I was talking about? Still in chapter one... yeah. It's killing me. "But why don't you just stop?" you all ask. Because, I'm not a quitter. And it's helping me practice my romance writing, for later novels that I can't disclose.


So, where exactly am I going with this? I have a radio interview in a few days and I'm freaking out about it! It's part of the whole Author job, but I literally can't stop stressing about it. It's good, free publicity, and it'll help build my platform. I don't want it. I just want to write books. This wasn't part of the bargain. The deal was, I write my favorite stories, and then I get a fat check in the mail from some mysterious company.


If you want to become an Author, know this, it's a public affair. Yes, no more Writing Gremlin, you have to dress nice, go out in public, and meet people. It sucks. I'm a mess. Please send help.


So, on that note, thanks for reading, I'll check back in with my next life crisis!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page