top of page
Search

Writing Update

So, I've been convicted lately; my social media presence has been almost non existent. I know you all can't live without me, let's be honest. I thought I'd start a small blog, nothing too major, just a tool to get in touch with you guys and let you know what I'm doing. And, all the cool authors have one.


First, I'd like to let you know what, exactly, this blog will be about. No, it's not an educational blog where you can come learn things about writing, although I will talk a lot about writing, it'll be more a vent than a lesson. This blog should just be a place where I post little updates about my life and what I'm doing in the literary world, what projects I'm working on, and other things that go with being an author. I don't plan on posting every week, maybe once a month, or twice depending on the month.


Now that's out of the way, I can get to the fun part!


What am I doing these days? Well, I'm glad you asked that, because it's a lot. I'm currently writing a Novella for my Grandma. She loves books and really wants to read something of mine, however she likes romance books with little to no violence. So, I decided to make her a historical romance. I set it during the first years of World War Two, in the town of Lille, France. It follows a relationship between Sylvain, a farmers son, and Colette, a daughter of a wealthy family. It explores what life was like during the German occupation of France, and should be a slight thriller.


I've also been working on turning my book, Spectrum, into an audio-book. That has been my biggest stress point lately. Finding a good narrator, being able to pay for it, and wondering how in the world you market an audio-book. ACX does make it easier, I would be absolutely lost without them. But, I'm always a little lost.


Another announcement that I'm super excited to share with you is that I've officially signed on with my first bookstore! Yes, my books are going to be on an actual bookshelf! It's a local book store, they're super nice and a dream to work with. They've really helped me through the whole process, and now it's time to set my sights on bigger prey... Barnes and Nobles here I come. Seriously. I'm considering it. A huge Thank you to Oregon Books.


That's all the updates I have right now. I've put my Sci-Fi thriller on the back burner for the time being. I'm hoping that taking a break will help me push through that nasty writers block. Hopefully you guys enjoy this Blog, and I hope I do too.


Your local Indie Author,

J. J. Welch

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page